Skip to content

HELP!! I agreed to speak in public about NUMERACY!!

February 10, 2017

I opened myself up to do a Nerd Night KC talk in May. If you are not familiar with Nerd Night, it is a sort-of global movement where people get together in a bar to listen to other people present about things the rest of society might consider nerdy. I think of it as a way to get some science-y things out there to the broader public and the topic I have chosen to present on is…

Numeracy

So, I am preparing now for the talk. I have some ideas of my own that I am keeping to myself but I am interested in hearing the ideas of others.

My goals for the talk are to:

  1. Explain what is generally meant by the term numeracy.
  2. Provide some examples of numeracy and especially some examples of when a lack of numeracy went terribly wrong.
  3. Share with the audience some examples of a lack of numeracy negatively affecting our ability to stave off hucksters.
  4. Share with the audience some ways of thinking about numbers that might help us get into the habit of interrogating numbers.

What do I need from you? Ideas.

What do you think the term numeracy means?
What are some examples of numeracy gone wrong from your own experience?
What are some examples of numeracy applied well that headed off disaster?
What are your strategies that you employ to make you own numeracy skills better?
How do you interrogate numbers?
Or anything else you want to share on this topic.

I am thinking of the title: Interrogating Numbers: Numeracy and Why We Need It.

GO!!!!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

The Insect Ecology Lab

at the University of Dayton (Dr. Chelse Prather & students)

ecoqui

Quantitative Genetics and more

Arthropod Ecology

Writings about arthropod ecology, arachnids & academia at McGill University

Random Walks

Mr. Chase blogs about math

Dynamic Ecology

Multa novit vulpes

Small Pond Science

Research, teaching, and mentorship in the sciences

